Evolution of a home brewery

Forum for all brewing related questions and information

Moderators: triple-oh_six, yeastmeister

Evolution of a home brewery

Postby Imakewort » Tue Jun 16, 2009 3:34 pm

I started brewing like most of us on my stove top but after a few boil overs I decided to build a brewery like I have seen in websites. I bought a 2 burner propane cooker from academy and added a raised section for the HLT, the burners were for the mash tun and boil kettle, And did all the mash recirculation by hand. The HLT water was heated in the boil kettle and transferred to the HLT which was a 10 gallon GOT cooler, and All I could do was single infusion mashes as I could not recirculate yet. After lifting hot water shoulder high a few times I added a heat stick to the HLT, and controlled the temp by unplugging it, Eventually I added a pump to help recirculate and a very simple control panel 2 switches, 1 for the pump 1 for the HLT. Then a Lauter Grant to help with sparging. I had added quick disconnects to the plumbing to aid in setting up and storing along with a couple of ball valves
Eventually I added better plumbing to control the movement of wort and upgraded the control panel and had a true RIMS system , I found that a lauter grant did not work very well and made it into a hop back, which I still use today. I finished the recirculation part inside the mash tun and still use it today , as it works great and is easy to use and clean. Removed the quick disconnect as I found they hold bacteria and added stainless flair connections, no place for bacteria to hide and they are cheap.

ImageImage