Love controllers

Forum for all brewing related questions and information

Moderators: triple-oh_six, yeastmeister

Love controllers

Postby aleguy » Tue Mar 31, 2009 10:37 am

I'm looking for the best price I can find on love controllers. This is hard because I'm not really sure what I should be looking for, but here goes:

http://www.dwyer-inst.com/Products/Prod ... e=Ordering

Then there are these, which look like the same thing, except they are ts instead of ts2.

http://www.dwyer-inst.com/Products/Prod ... e=Ordering

These look like the best deal so far, but my beer besotted layman's mind can't really tell if these will work for our application.

http://www.virtualvillage.com/Items/001 ... 001480-138 caTitle=PID Digital Temperature Controller RTD

I found these today:

http://auberins.com/index.php?main_page ... ucts_id=14

and they work with these:

http://auberins.com/index.php?main_page ... ucts_id=96

And they have these!

http://auberins.com/index.php?main_page ... cts_id=118

I think I found my best link for building yet.
Last edited by aleguy on Sun May 17, 2009 11:41 am, edited 8 times in total.
Never trust a skinny chef, a sober brewer, or a cat with thumbs!
User avatar
aleguy
 
Posts: 2112
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 1:36 pm

Postby yeastmeister » Tue Mar 31, 2009 12:21 pm

our top 2 links are identical. I think you meant this for the top one....

http://www.dwyer-inst.com/Products/Product.cfm?Group_ID=402&Product_ID=706&sPageName=Ordering

Which happens to be the same one most of us are using on the controlled systems. Unfortunately, Colepalmer used to sell them for $49 bucks, but it looks like they are selling them for the same price as dwyer now. Thats why we went with those.

Seems kind of odd now. The TS2 is basically the same thing as the TS switch, except the TS2 has the ability to be programmed with a configuration key if you need to to bunches of them instead of doing each one by hand. Given the current pricing on the website, you could put together a TS2 with the 5 foot metal probe for $57, while the TS with the 5 foot metal probe will cost you $65. Both will need a little $ for shipping.

While the one from virtual village probably will work, note that it does not come with a probe at that price, there are none listed (although the dwyer probes should work as they appear to be compatible with the unit), and the relays are only listed at 3 amps. Thats fine for asco, but not if you wanted to run a freezer off of it. I do sort of like them because they have a SSR output on them which would allow you to switch up to 50A with the additional purchase of an SSR module. I'd like to see a manual for it to see what the parameters are however, but it should work and it looks like you could put one together for $42 + shipping.
User avatar
yeastmeister
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1303
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 6:41 am
Location: Lafayette, LA

Postby aleguy » Tue Mar 31, 2009 12:55 pm

Thanks, that's what I wanted to know. By the way, the top link may be identical to the second link, but is a lot cheaper, coming in at $50. When the time comes I think I'll look at the Virtual Village controller, since all I want them for is to control my Asco valves.
Never trust a skinny chef, a sober brewer, or a cat with thumbs!
User avatar
aleguy
 
Posts: 2112
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 1:36 pm

Postby redtail28 » Tue Mar 31, 2009 7:38 pm

that over my head :shock:
Virtual village is a cool site.
They have digtal sacle that weigh
up to 500 grams for like 16.00
and refractors 32 brix atc for 39.
" Jeder muÃ? an etwas glauben, und ich glaube, ich trinke noch einen."
User avatar
redtail28
 
Posts: 626
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 9:02 pm
Location: Lafayette La

Postby aleguy » Wed Apr 01, 2009 8:57 am

Yeah, but the refractometers and scales are in Chinese. You'll have to learn to read Mandarin to use them. :wink: :wink:
Never trust a skinny chef, a sober brewer, or a cat with thumbs!
User avatar
aleguy
 
Posts: 2112
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 1:36 pm

Postby aleguy » Mon May 11, 2009 11:18 am

I found a new link that has some really sweet temp. probes, as well as good prices on PIDS. Check out the last three links in the first post. I hope someone knows where to get what I need to put a 1/4" NPT in a 1/2" NPT hole. I'm thinking something like the 1/2" nipples with a 1/4" tap inside?
Never trust a skinny chef, a sober brewer, or a cat with thumbs!
User avatar
aleguy
 
Posts: 2112
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 1:36 pm

Postby yeastmeister » Mon May 11, 2009 12:06 pm

Very interesting. I read the specs, and it does seem like those would work fine. I like the probes that detach. I'll definitely help you set them up if you get them. The internal relay is rated at 3A - 250V, which is more than enough to cover the asco valves. You should have no trouble finding a stainless bushing that will allow you to go from 1/2" to 1/4".

Be aware that they state your basically going to turn off the PID mode of the device and treat it like a on/off controller. Basically, your going to turn off the learning capabilities and turn it into a standard love controller. They state the PID stuff won't work with solenoids.
User avatar
yeastmeister
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1303
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 6:41 am
Location: Lafayette, LA

Postby aleguy » Mon May 11, 2009 2:10 pm

Thanks. I'm glad we have someone who can translate that stuff for us! even if it is just operating like a love controller, it is cheaper (except for those probes.) I wonder why it won't work as a PID with asco valves? Maybe it was designed for electric elements?
Never trust a skinny chef, a sober brewer, or a cat with thumbs!
User avatar
aleguy
 
Posts: 2112
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 1:36 pm

Postby yeastmeister » Mon May 11, 2009 3:37 pm

PID's don't work well with inductive loads....things like solenoids, or motors. PIDS typically work by "pulsing" the power to achieve the control. Inductive loads don't like pulsed power.
User avatar
yeastmeister
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1303
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 6:41 am
Location: Lafayette, LA

Postby aleguy » Mon May 11, 2009 3:41 pm

More than I needed to know, but great info nonetheless. Does that mean it wouldn't work as a PID for a freezer control? I know it would need a relay to step up the Amps.
Never trust a skinny chef, a sober brewer, or a cat with thumbs!
User avatar
aleguy
 
Posts: 2112
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 1:36 pm

Postby yeastmeister » Mon May 11, 2009 5:22 pm

Correct, compressers are inductive as well.
User avatar
yeastmeister
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1303
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 6:41 am
Location: Lafayette, LA


Return to DeadYeast Main Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron